First Steps Womens Centre Dungannon

First Steps Womens Centre Dungannon

FSWC Board of Directors

At present FSWC is managed through a Board of Directors that meets 8-10 times per year. The Board are the legal guardians and custodians of FSWC and can be made up of professional people who have a genuine interest in the welfare of the Centre.

Board of Directors:

Mary ONeill

Majella Murphy

Mary O'Neill
Vice Chairperson

Eileen Fitzgerald

Katalin Hajdu

   Helen O'Donnell    

 Committee Member
Jean McGuinness

 Committee Member
Helen O'Donnell



Chairperson - Majella is employed by NIRWIN (Northern Ireland Rural Women's Network) and is based in Dungannon. Majella has been a Board member since 2006.
Vice Chairperson - Mary is the former Manager of Dungannon & Community District Transport
Treasurer - Eileen works as Financial Controller in Dungannon Enterprise Centre.
Secretary - Katalin is Hungarian and came to FSWC to do an English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) course.  She also completed a number of computer courses and now works full time.

Committee Members/Directors

Jean McGuinness - Jean has recently retired having previously been a Programme Director and Lecturer in Nursing at Queen’s University Belfast.  Jean holds the following professional and educational qualifications:

  • Sc. degree in Communication Studies – Queen’s University Belfast
  • BA Hons in Irish Language and Literature – University of Ulster Belfast
  • BA Hons in Professional Development – University of Ulster Belfast

Jean is actively involved in a number of community and voluntary groups in the locality.

Helen O'Donnell  is very committed and dependable and has worked in a voluntary capacity for over thirty five years.  During this time she has gained a wealth of knowledge and expertise.  Helen is presently  Vice Chair of Mid Ulster Citizens Advice and past Chair of COSTA.  Helen is also involved in her local community. 




First Steps Womens Centre on Twitter